Recipe For Success!

About Blog it! Week
Join Young Female Entrepreneurs the week of November 5th through the 9th in getting to know and learn from our peers through blogging. Each day YFE has a unique blog theme setup. Write on the subject and visit YFE on Facebook at Facebook.com/yfentrepreneur. Find the post pinned to the top and comment with a link to your blog post that corresponds with the day’s theme! Check out what others have written and watch for a recap of the day’s posts on the YFE Blog. Let’s meet one another over more than just 140 characters.

I have noticed that there are certain activities that help me to function at my optimum level and that simply put a smile on my face. However, I am far from perfect and I find that I often get down on myself when I fall behind and forget to do some of them. My encouragement for both myself and for you would be to find 5-10 things that work for you and make sure that you incorporate at least a couple into your daily routine. Here are my 5 personal favorites!

Meditation & Prayer

I find that when I make the time in the morning for prayer and meditation, I am almost guaranteed a productive and peaceful day. Even if you don’t think that meditation or prayer is right for you I would suggest that you at least give it a try for a week. Although, the longer you stick with it the better the results. I used to be skeptical of meditation as well but I have to say that it is well worth the time invested. If you are not sure where to start click here to check out a post on meditation by my good friend Phil Drolet.

Spend Time Outside

I go on a daily walk in the town where I live and it is one of my favorite parts of the day. As Dr. Andrew Weil says, even 10 minutes  of walking a day can provide you with tremendous long-term benefits. For me, walking is so relaxing and is a time where I can daydream, think, and process my day. I find that I am also at my most creative when I am outside.

Read for Fun

As a child, my favorite part of the school day was when we had reading in the afternoon. Even before I could read myself, my parents would read to me and therefore books have always been an important part of my life. As an introvert, reading is my escape. Some of my personal favorites are: The Monk and the Riddle, The Alchemist, The Art of Nonconformity, Love Does, What I Wish I Knew When I Was 20, Sun Stand Still and yes I read Harry Potter.

Music

Listening to your favorite song, or genre is a great way to put yourself in a good mood and get you pumped up to be productive. My favorite types of music are K-Pop (Korean pop) and Classical (interesting combo, right) Regardless of what the day holds for me I try to get in some music mid afternoon to boost my energy level. I also have another “interesting” musical tradition. Each night before I go to bed I listen to the song “In the Air Tonight” by Phil Collins. I know, I’m the weirdest person ever…but I’m ok with that.

Plenty of Water & Veggies

I know that you are probably thinking…I already know all of this but my question for you is are you currently doing it? If you are, that’s great! Maybe you could give me some tips, however, my guess is that most of us fall short. We know what we should be doing yet we don’t follow through. Drinking lots of water and eating abundant amounts of fresh vegetables will do wonders for your body, energy level, and mental state. Just take my word for it and give it a go.

I would challenge you to incorporate at least one of these activities into your life this week or make up your own list! Let me know if you have any suggestions of new activities I should try. I would love to hear!

Leave a Reply

