Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Waiting

This is a quote from The Life and Times of A Remarkable Misfit by AJ Leon

There are few things on earth more dangerous than waiting

Waiting for the perfect time to launch. Waiting to have enough money to start. Waiting for your friends to think you can. Waiting for some blogger or regional manager or magazine editor to notice you. Waiting for God to increase the hours of the day. Waiting until the kids graduate. Waiting until you’re out of debt. Waiting for your dad to believe in you. Waiting for the boss to say it’s fine. Waiting for a case study to prove it’s worth it. Waiting for retirement. Waiting to be chosen. Waiting to be validated. Waiting for a sign

The obvious problem with waiting. Paralysis. The nothingness that comes with not trying

The not-so-obvious problem with waiting. The more you do it, the better you get at it

You want to know the truth? I’d rather slip backwards than stay put. Because at the very least I’m learning something for my next step up. And that something is usually more valuable than what I would have learned by doing nothing at all

3 responses

  1. I love AJ! His manifesto is one of the best things I’ve read this year, easily. And I love this quote. I’d probably benefit from listening to it myself! 🙂

    Like

    • I think we should make a list of everything we have in common. Lol. When I am having a rough day this is definitely one of my go to books! I always seem to find a new takeaway each time I read it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

